| Phone Icon 403.210.5275 | Email Icon Contact Us | Resize Text
Post Header Graphic

Genome Alberta Award Winners 2018


Science Fair season is almost over in Alberta. The top students from the regional fairs now proceed as finalists to compete in the Canada-Wide Science Fair (CWSF). They will be accompanied by adult supervisors called delegates to this year’s fair in Ottawa, Ontario from May 16 to 18. It will be an exciting time for ‘Team Alberta’ and we at Genome Alberta wish them well on this adventure.

We at Genome Alberta are excited for the student finalists. We sponsor awards for all Alberta science fair regions to encourage independent project-based learning and STEM education. Many of our Genome Alberta award winners will represent their regions with competitive projects at this year’s CWSF. One of our repeat winners, Colette Benko, will represent Canada at this year’s 2018 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania from May 13-18. Intel ISEF is considered to be the world championships of science fairs.

We are very proud of the outstanding young scientists who are recipients of this year’s Genome Alberta Awards:

Calgary Youth Science Fair
  • Colette Benko
  • Arjun Mudgal
  • Monica Aida Lopez Quiroz
Canadian Rockies Regional Science Fair
  • Hannah Baron
  • Jorja Dickey
  • Ella Ricci
Central Alberta Regional Science Fair
  • Amber Armstrong
  • Allison Guthrie
  • Makayla Graham
  • Carson Jacobs
  • Nicholas Ramrattan
  • Erin Smith
Edmonton Regional Science Fair
  • Maya Achuthan
  • Jonathan Afowork
  • Mihir Gothal
Peace Country Regional Science Fair
  • Salamat Ibrahim
Southeast Alberta Regional Science Fair
  • Audrey Beckedorf
  • Pakeeza Mushtaq
  • Victoria Rooks
Sci-Fusion – The Lethbridge Regional Science Fair
  • Audrey Golsteyn
  • Élizabeth Smith
Wood Buffalo Regional Science Fair
  • Judah Legaree
  • Levi Legaree

You can also find me on

Genome Alberta Award Winners 2018

Listen Icon Listen to podcast